Learning the Double E Phonogram Over a Snack

Today, I taught my daughter how the double e phonogram (ee) makes the second sound of e, its long sound, where e says its name.

I started things out by inviting her to have some ice cream and presenting her with this tray:

ee-phonogram-snack

She accepted my ice cream invitation. I made her a double scoop cone and we talked about how “double is twice the quantity” and that “a double scoop ice cream cone has twice the quantity of scoops than a single scoop cone.” I reinforced the concept with, “A single scoop is just one scoop. A double scoop is two scoops!” She was excited …

IMG_6003

… she took a bite and was done with the ice cream. So I ate it instead and gave her a double serving of pudding with a double spoon.

IMG_6007

While she happily ate pudding, I introduced the double e phonogram to her pointing out that it has two e’s in a row. She mentioned knowing that e makes two sounds, announcing their short and long sounds. I told her that the double e is special because it makes just one sound, the long e sound, e, where e says its name.

After the brief introduction to double e, I sung her the double e ditty from Wordy Worm Reading a couple times.

Then, she abandoned the pudding and asked for her Halloween candy. Conveniently for my double e lesson, she chose a bag of Halloween pretzels from her candy stash. So, I asked her to find the double e on the pretzel label. She was excited to find it and I sounded the whole word out for her.

IMG_6009

After snack, I invited her to color the double e on paper. She chose to paint freestyle instead. As she painted, I sounded out the word green for her and sang her the double e ditty a couple more times.

IMG_6014

In no time, I expect she’ll be pointing out the double e to me spontaneously. I expect this because not long after a lesson about the ay phonogram, we had a birthday balloon floating around the house. She pointed to the print on the balloon and yelled, “AY mommy, AY, AY, AY! Look! Look! AY!”

ay-on-birthday-balloon

I’m quite excited by this burgeoning print awareness skill.

Leave a Reply

